Trapshooters Forum banner

1 - 20 of 26 Posts

·
Registered
83 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I’ve searched and cannot find a good match on this topic. I’m new to Krieghoff ownership (K-80) and finding general cleaning inside the torn down receiver can be more of a challenge than any of my other O/Us.

I’m curious if any of you have any tricks of the trade. Are there better tools than the pick I’m using (basic plastic gunsmith picks)? I usually put a little bore cleaner on wipes to help. I’m also using several long swabs.

Interested in other thoughts.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

·
Registered
890 Posts
I'm not familiar with the internals of a K-80 but I learned this from my MX-8 while also using the break cleaner method to wash the receiver internals. MX Perrazis have a cocking bar, not cocking rod(s). This is a single dove tailed bar and the machined slot in the receiver provides for very tight tolerances. My gun started tightening up when closing it after reassembly and I hadn't realized I had washed all lubricant out from the dove tailed surfaces. I learned a valuable lesson. I now annually completely empty my receiver of parts for cleaning/lube as it is quite easy with the removable trigger group.

·
Registered
132 Posts
I was told from a Krieghoff gun smith that you don't want to wash the grease out of the internals. Basically in his words....these things love lots of grease on the internals. He recommended not doing much in the "internals" unless something breaks.

I use gun medic....I spray down the breach area to remove powder fouling and wipe out the excess cleaner then wipe the remaining areas with a synthetic cloth covered in Rem oil and put the my K-80 back in the safe.

·
Registered
83 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
I use gun medic....I spray down the breach area to remove powder fouling and wipe out the excess cleaner then wipe the remaining areas with a synthetic cloth covered in Rem oil and put the my K-80 back in the safe.