Trapshooters Forum banner

1 - 20 of 185 Posts

·
Sleep...What’s That?
419 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
I saw something on a shoot during Memorial Day that I had not seen before...of course I am still fairly new to this sport. This was at a registered shoot at a small club...maybe 50 shooters tops.

The event was singles. A shooter on Post 3 chipped a target and the scorer did not call a loss...I even seen the chip from behind the field where I was watching. Shooters on post 4 and 5 shoot and then the shooter on post 1 turned to the scorer and wanted to protest the chipped target shot by post 3. He was adamant about the target not being dead and argued with the scorer about it for a couple full minutes till the scorer offered to remove herself right then and get somebody else. Others verified they saw the chip as well, but this guy was pissed! Myself and others were just in awe about how loud this guy got over a small plaque if he managed to win. He finally turned and continued the round.

Is this common?

·
Registered
172 Posts
Yes I've seen this many times, but it's happened to me only once. The scorer couldn't tell if I broke the target or not so she called it dead and the lady shooting next to me turned to the scorer and just stared at her. When the scorer asked her what she wanted she said "aren't you going to say anything?" The scorer asked why and she said "that was a lost bird"

I didn't protest bc I couldn't tell either but I really didn't appreciate her input.

·
Registered
10,782 Posts
TinyL, no, it's not a common everyday occurrence at all. Once in a while a target piece will be questioned, usually not by the shooter breaking the piece but another may question a scorekeeper. I trust young eyes that know what they are looking for over older eyes most any day. Angle of a look is mighty important too!!