Trapshooters Forum banner
1 - 20 of 61 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
I am new to the sport. Looking back, if you were purchasing your first trap gun. What would you have done differently and why?

·
Registered
65 Posts
It’s like asking what’s the best car)) those who drove Mercedes AMG and BMW M3 will never settle down for Toyota even though Toyota is an amazing car. They all will get you from a to b but they also will just feel different. Same with shotguns . I had 25 straight with remington 870 with citori 725 and Perazzi. All good guns but all different as day and night. Would i shoot Remington 870 for scores? Absolutely not.
You budget will play a big role in your choice

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

·
Registered
65 Posts
Some guns will fit you naturally some will need tweaking and adjustments. I am assuming you just entering the sport. The best thing to do is go to you local club/s and talk to as many people as possible and ask to hold and handle as many guns as possible and see what feels right what not. Shoot some then evaluate again what feels right what not

If you are new to sport first year you’ll be learning yourself, how you behave and react. What might feel right at first eventually can change 180 degrees down the road. Learn yourself!

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

·
Premium Member
3,318 Posts
So many criteria to look at and probably differs a lot for people. After looking at a lot of my criteria, I decided to go with a Kolar. I just ordered it and can’t wait to get it!

·
Registered
2,733 Posts
I found that I like the Beretta 68x action. I started off with a 682 top single and O/U barrels combo.
Later discovered that I like shooting an Unsingle. So when Beretta stopped making 682, I purchased Joel Etchen's 687s. I got the unsingle and the O/U. This way each gun is a back up for the other. I also like the Precision Fit Stock that I have on the unsingle.