Trapshooters Forum banner

1 - 20 of 22 Posts

·
Registered
61 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am new to sporting clays and want to Get an entry level gun below the $5000 mark. I have found a near mint condition 2010 DT-10 sporting model w/32 inch barrels for 4K. Would you go with the DT-10 or opt for a new 694? Also in the 4-5k range any other guns you would recommend? I would like a K-80 but I don’t I can’t find one less than 7k. I appreciate the help.

·
Premium Member
12,898 Posts
DT-10 - all the way.

A much stronger, well thought out firearm.

I own a 687 and a 682, as well as a DT-10 - no comparison between the two lines.

·
Registered
11,117 Posts
I would be leaning heavily on the Dt-10 side. I would check the barrel regulation on a patterning board and make sure both barrels are shooting to the same place at distance. Don't forget to use a tri-pod while your sitting to hold the gun steady. Freehand shooting for regulation will tell you nothing. Shooting on a table with a lead sled it best. Good Luck to Ya. break em all Jeff

·
Registered
3,344 Posts
DT10 all day for a variety of reasons.

Stronger action.

Drop out triggers (get yourself a spare trigger if you buy the gun).

Proven, the 694 is as yet an unknown quantity, and it's immediate predecessor, the 690/692 series was not Beretta's most popular model.

Just my 2c.

·
Premium Member
12,898 Posts
You don't really need a spare trigger set - just get spare main springs and a bunch of the sear-reset springs (there are three different sizes of these, you will need to hit them with a caliper to find what diameter wire you need).

·
Registered
2,106 Posts