Trapshooters Forum banner

1 - 20 of 25 Posts

·
Registered
10 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello everyone. Just joined this forum to hopefully get some recommendations.

I bought a used Beretta 390 Gold Mallard about a year ago. I think it's a beautiful gun and it has been flawless so far. Admittedly I have only shot it about 3 or 4 times on wobble. It came with a 24" barrel so perhaps I'll have to stick with skeet and wobble. I'm totally new to clay shooting and shotguns in general. Only firearms experience I have is through the Marine Corps and the Army National Guard.

Anyway, what replacement/upgrade parts should I get for this 390? I don't want to get all crazy with it, I'll probably shoot maybe 2 - 4 times a month so about a maximum of 200 rounds a month. That may increase if I become obsessed with shooting clays. I live near the Quantico Marine Corps base (about 15 minutes away) and there's a shooting club that has skeet/trap. I want to keep and shoot this shotgun forever so I'm thinking about buying another barrel for it and other parts to ensure it lasts for the rest of my life. Thanks

·
Registered
527 Posts
A 28” Mobilchoke barrel would be better suited for the clay targets and hunting. There are a couple of vendors on this site that can hook you up.

If you want to buy extended chokes, get a skeet and light modified from Briley or Carlson’s. Beretta also sells some nice Ported black oxide chokes on their website in IC and Modified. Those 2 chokes will do all you need to get started.

·
Registered
10 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
A 28” Mobilchoke barrel would be better suited for the clay targets and hunting. There are a couple of vendors on this site that can hook you up.

If you want to buy extended chokes, get a skeet and light modified from Briley or Carlson’s. Beretta also sells some nice Ported black oxide chokes on their website in IC and Modified. Those 2 chokes will do all you need to get started.