Trapshooters Forum banner
1 - 20 of 57 Posts

·
Registered
240 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm sorry if this question has been asked before, but how much do you have to shoot to justify getting a reloader?
I am fairly new to Trap and was wondering how much I'd need to shoot to see a benefit from reloading my own shells. Also generally speaking what is the start up cost for getting into reloading? A good beginner reloader? And where is the best place to look for new/used loader?

Any advice or help would be greatly appreciated.

·
Premium Member
1,076 Posts
If you are looking for a financial reason, probably best stick with bargain ammo. Find it on sale, load up several cases when the price looks really good to you.

Reloading 12 GA is really a personal preference. I save a few bucks by buying in large quantities and shopping components. Many of us at our local gun club go in together on large orders to both get good pricing, cheap freight and one hazmat fee often. But you have to be willing to put out for a large supply of product. Lead being biggest influence on reloading costs. Not that you should ignore primers, wads and powder but lead seems to move the needle more. My joy comes from it being an extension hobby of shooting, and I can make a world class 1 oz load for less than the cheap steel based shells. I have a lifetime supply of Nitro hulls to reload.

If you were to entertain reloading, you need a buddy to help get you rolling in the right direction, and help with selection of components and competitive pricing on them. This site is a great resource for questions, and finding a unit that you would want. There are many reloaders to choose, from very inexpensive to top of the line. Mec honestly is the most common, and a grabber or 9000 would be hard to beat starting out. Won't break the bank either. Once you know if reloading is for you, then you can look at the high end presses, with Spolar being on the top of that mountain.

·
Registered
240 Posts