Trapshooters Forum banner

1 - 20 of 99 Posts

·
Registered
117 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Beretta 690 Sporting with mid bead and orange colored bead at the end. Took em off today. Lets hear it both good and bad. Who use's their beads and who takes em off. By the way I shot better today without them but its only been one day. I'm a newbie and not afraid to try something new until I find my grove.

·
Registered
544 Posts
I only use the beads in the gun mounted games as an alignment check. I don't consciously see the bead or barrel during the swing and shot. In shooting gun down I've lost the bead and not noticed until going back to trap. Not everyone shoots that way though. Likely as many opinions on having one as what color it should be.

·
Registered
544 Posts
If you do not know where the bead is in relation to the target, its tough to hit the clay. If beads are not necessary, then you should shoot as good at night as during the day.
My only adjustment to that statement would be that the relationship many shooters use is the bird barrel relationship. Fine alignment of the bird and bead, or barrel for that matter, will result in slowing or stopping the swing as soon as the eye tries to focus on the bead. Point a shotgun, aim a rifle.

From where you are right now, pick out something across the room and point at it with your finger. Now close your non dominant eye. You're pointing exactly at what you picked out. No bead necessary. As you gain experience your shotgun will become an extension of your finger.

·
Banned
7,664 Posts
All different beads I've tried, I like small ivory or small brass front bead, or no bead. Anything brighter than the target will distract me.

·
Registered
3,556 Posts
If you shoot better without the beads leave them off.

I like my front bead. I see it in my peripheral when I pull the trigger.

Remember there is more than one way to shoot clay targets successfully.

When someone tells you there is only one way to shoot a clay run other way.