Trapshooters Forum banner

1 - 20 of 36 Posts

·
Registered
64 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I know it’s a personal preference but what do you look for in barrel length? Does your height and body shape/size play a factor? Yes I’m new to sport and have always had 28” field guns just because that’s the common/only offering.

·
Registered
517 Posts
32” O/U. I’m 6’2” with long arms and it swings smooth for me. I like the longer sight plane as well. I’ll shoot a 26” field gun just fine also. But for clays I like the longer barrels.

·
Registered
9 Posts
Depends on what I'm shooting. I shoot trap with 32" barrels and move to 30" for Skeet and Sporting clays for ease of swing. I also use 30" barrels for hunting

·
Registered
10,448 Posts
Depends on the game and the gun. The K-80 and K-20 Sporters balance well with 32" barrels. The Remington 870 12 ga seems to balance best with the 26". Prewar Model 12 12 ga plain barrel? 28"

·
Registered
7,960 Posts
I tried everything from 26" to 34" O/Us. I find barrel weight more important than length.
My favorite O/U is 29.5"/30" with 1.55 kgs weight.
I also had a 34" unsingle that weights 1.5 kgs only, I shot a couple 100s with it.
So for me, barrel weight is a lot more important than length.

·
Registered
2,168 Posts
Weight is more a factor for me then length of a barrel . I used to shoot a KX5 with a 34" barrel and that worked great . Tried a 34" o/u on a K80 > not so good . Barrel lengt is not that important to me , it is more the " feel" and swing of the gun . I shoot Skeet and sporting mostly with a 20 Ga , 32" barrel Cesar Guerini and do good with it

·
Registered
8,564 Posts
For me, 32” for o/u and 34” for single barrel.
I believe that is probably the most common set up for trap.

·
Registered
Winchester Diamond Grade Trap Combo , Browning 725 Pro Trap
128 Posts