Trapshooters Forum banner

1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
285 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
If you've ever been to a backyard trap shoot before and pulled out a real trap gun most folks will be in awe or say "you paid how much for a single shot shotgun!??",even if its an old war horse BT-99 that you first started with. They don't get it. I always take a regular field gun to avoid the attention or static from the un-educated. But anyway...….I have an old wingmaster I plan on having reblued and I also have some nice furniture to put on it. What else could I do to the gun barrel wise? Back bore? whats that's typically cost? Recoil reducers in stock and magazine? to help the gun swing more smoothly? Its not a budget build so cost isn't really that important. Id like to the gun to look stock in appearance, so no gra-coils, etc. Just looking for some opinions. Thanks for your response.

·
Registered
285 Posts
Discussion Starter #2
I would delete this if I could. Found a good a thread.....

·
Premium Member
3,392 Posts
If you have a 30" full choked vent ribbed barrel, leave it alone! Don't mess with the forcing cone, bore, or choke...waste. of money. Might replace the front bead and install a middle line-up bead. Put 8 to 10 oz. of weight in mag tube and stock. A factory straight or monte carlo buttstock and you've got all you need.

·
Premium Member
1,666 Posts
I have an old Remington vent rib full choke barrel on my 870. Throws the best pattern I have ever seen! No way would I touch that barrel. If I were you I would reblue clean up the wood or replace it and quit. Those 870’s are popular for good reason.

·
Registered
4,607 Posts
Toss 4 lead filled hulls on top of the mag spring, a hunk of foam over the stock bolt with shot filling the rest of the hole, and you're set.

·
Registered
286 Posts