Trapshooters Forum banner

1 - 20 of 22 Posts

·
Registered
451 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Having difficulty pulling up the rule book pdf on my laptop.

This is my first year in the ATA so i admit that i do not know all the rules. Went to a registered shoot, out of town. i found it weird that they mixed registered shooters with non registered shooters. The guy keeping score did not call "loss" on loss birds. He intermittently walked up to shooters on the line during a post change and would ask "did you hit that last one"

The scorekeeper's son was also on my squad and the scorekeeper would frequently walk up behind him during a game and coach him on his misses which I found absolutely distracting not only seeing a body moving forward and backwards next to me but hearing him carry a conversation of his misses on the post next to me as im in the process of mounting my gun and calling for a bird.

Is this etiquette or is there some sort of rule/guideline?
Didn't want to say anything to them as I wasn't sure on the rules

·
Registered
32,257 Posts
Where was this shoot?

http://www.shootata.com/Portals/0/pdf/ata_rulebook_web.pdf

Section IV, G, 4 Combining registered and non registered shooters

Section IV, I, 3 Shoot management must I strut trap help on proper manner of conducting shoot for scorekeeper problems, he would also be guilty of causing disharmony of the shoot.

Section VIi, A, 3 Proper score keeping procedure

·
Registered
32,257 Posts
Thank you.

·
Registered
451 Posts
Discussion Starter · #6 ·
Welcome. My darn computer wont open this pdf. Im going to try to pull it up on my work laptop tomorrow

·
Registered
'07 Kolar Max TA 3bbl set, Jeff Mainland fitted
2,746 Posts
What you went through was VERY unusual and never would be permitted at any venue I've ever shot. Find another place to shoot, and move on. There are no rules that govern stupid.

·
Super Moderator
5,309 Posts
Was it a "Big 50" or a registered league?