Trapshooters Forum banner
1 - 20 of 23 Posts

·
Registered
3,392 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Forgive me for bring up ancient history, but it still makes me smile and yet, saddened.

Back around 1970, I worked in a hospital and became friends with a patient who, it turned out, had been a long-time registered trap shooter. While minor, his case required a couple weeks in the hospital and we developed a friendship. At some point, he asked if I'd have any interest in his trap gun. He had no heirs and he hadn't shot for many, many years.

At his discharge, he invited me to his home and showed me one of his guns. It was a fine, trap-grade Winchester 21, He insisted that I take the gun to try out, and I went to the local club and broke 49x50 from the 27 with it. He then asked if $800 was too much. I quickly agreed and, poor college student that I was, I asked my Dad to send me the money.

I returned the gun and told him I'd come down to pick it up the next day when I had the money.

Call after call went un-answered for our meet-up over the next few days, so I contacted a friend of his who sadly informed me that my friend had died of a sudden heart attack. With no close relatives, the guns were going to some distant relative who, despite some pleading from those in the know, had decided to saw the barrels off to 20" to use as a home defense gun.

Guess how sick I was.

·
Premium Member
2,181 Posts