Trapshooters Forum banner

Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
17 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I like break open shotguns, particularly side by sides. I've had a few pumps over the years (Mossberg 500, Winchester 97, Remington Express 870) but I've never enjoyed shooting them and am back to my Beretta MkII (for trap) and my Savage Fox Model B (for everything else, including homeland security) Now I realize pumps and autloaders are considered the cat's meow when it comes to protecting one's castle but darn it, I feel more confident with a break open double.
I'm curious,
Is there anyone else with like similar preference?

·
Registered
2,219 Posts
GK,

Good question! I married in 1965 and, being a gun nut from a gun nut family, I wished to teach my new wife how to protect herself while I traveled for a living and was gone alot. First, I pulled out the pistol...typical home protection. Realized she could not pull the hammer back and that she was shooting a small single projectile which meant she needed to be accurate. Sooooo, I bought a break gun with a short barrel, cut the stock down. No need for difficult loading process as with a pistol, pump or auto. Darling, hit the lever, drop in the shell, close the gun, point it in the general direction of your target and pull the trigger. A pistol of significant caliber was also too heavy for my little girl to handle while the break gun sat in her arms like a broom stick...easy. There are many who disagree with this approach as most home security guns are handguns but for someone who does not regularily shoot and not accustomed to or trained with firearms...well I think I made the best decision for all concerned at my house. It was kept loaded and hidden behind the curtain next to her bed for easy access.

miltie

·
Registered
2,474 Posts