Trapshooters Forum banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
309 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I started loading shot shells this year. I've been enjoying it a lot. It's so much fun to run em using ammo assembled by oneself.

Initially I loaded 7/8 oz loads. I still enjoy shooting them for singles. When I started shooting doubles and handicap I upped it to 1oz. I've only used the Clay Buster winchester clones. The dark grey wads (cb0178-12) worked well for my 7/8 loads. For 1 oz I tried the pink wads (cb1100-12) pictured here:

For some reason they didn't feed nearly as well in my Dillon or PW as their 7/8 cousin did. So, I recently bought some of the white wads (cb4100-12b). They fed a lot smoother and stacked in the hull just fine. Tonight I ran to the pattern board to compare loads with pink vs. white wads. It appeared that the whites "MAYBE" produced a better pattern, maybe...

Now, I'm wondering what's the real differences between the two? What's the purpose of the skinnier petals of the white wad? Those are obviously different but so is the base section, for lack of a better term. The pink wads would have the leg collapse on one side sometimes causing the wad to tilt in the hull (AAHS and Nitros). The base of the white wads is more stout and hasn't tilted or fed weird in any way. Are wads really that different from each other ballistically? Or, do people use different wads to fine tune the "assembly" part of their loads?

Thanks, Alex

·
Registered
4,984 Posts