Trapshooters Forum banner

1 - 20 of 35 Posts

·
Registered
79 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi Everyone,

I'm new to the sport and recently bought an 870TB for a starter gun. I've been trying to look up information on the barrel, but I'm confused because there are three marks on it. The first is the REP proof mark, the second is an E with a circle around it, and the third is a KN with a rectangle around that. The barrel is also marked TARGET and has a star on it.

I'm just trying to figure out what barrel this is...is it a TB barrel, a TC barrel or neither? It's thirty inches long and accepts choke tubes. I'm not sure if it came that way or not.

Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks,
Chase

·
Registered
409 Posts
I have an older TB & TC and neither barrel is marked as to which grade it is so I can only assume they are the same. The stock on my TC is marked with the serial number the TB is not.

·
Registered
79 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
Thanks for the responses. I think you might be right that the TB & TC barrels are the same, but like ljutic73 said I think they are upgraded trap barrels. I have read in a few different places that the barrels marked TARGET are also supposed to be back-bored. Goony, are your TB & TC barrels marked TARGET? Thanks again.

·
Banned
9,042 Posts
If they say "Target" on them, they have been meticulously caressed.

·
Registered
7,187 Posts
Thanks for the responses. I think you might be right that the TB & TC barrels are the same, but like ljutic73 said I think they are upgraded trap barrels. I have read in a few different places that the barrels marked TARGET are also supposed to be back-bored. Goony, are your TB & TC barrels marked TARGET? Thanks again.
I heard somewhere (this site maybe) that Remington would set aside their straightest, most concentric 870 and 100 barrels for installation on their trap guns. I know both my 870's (a 70's vintage TA and a Comp. will murder targets at 27 yards as well as my Ljutic.

·
Registered