Trapshooters Forum banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
2,232 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I picked up about 2/3s of a working 870 last year to do a PFS project for a friend in need.
Once that was over with, I started playing around with it for myself.
Finally got a stock on it that I like and a 34" trap barrel from a fellow TS member.
All I can say is for an inexpensive gun, it breaks targets with authority.

·
Premium Member
1,556 Posts
I did similar a couple years ago. Bought a new 870. Got a chance to get a Speedbump stock and recoil system for it. Then found a new old stock vent rib full choke trap barrel. Patterns better than any shotgun I can remember. Sure does well on the trap line too.

·
Registered
14 Posts
I have built two 870s out of parts for trap. Both began life as discarded 870 expresses that I picked up for less than $200. Added Monte Carlo stocks, full length forearms, installed improved trigger sears and springs, added trigger shoes, and replaced the extractors. Polished all the key metal to metal contact points and refinished same. Found 30 inch barrels and installed mid-beads. Found a couple of the magazine tube weights that Remington used to give a bit more swing weight to each gun.

Most of the parts were acquired in trade or were discards from folks who had no use for them.

They turned pretty well and were solid trap guns that broke clays as well as any gun I own.

Gave the first one to a young man who was just getting into trap, and my son has claimed the other.

·
Registered
779 Posts
I have a '52 and a '71 870TC.... '52 flat trap stock and the '71 has an MC. The MC shoots way to high for me, prob 90% but the '52 is just a target grinder. I mean wow. There's something to those hand fitted older barrels. I always thought there was some truth and a lot of hype to it until I shot this one. Nothing wrong with an 870 on the line other than recoil, and that can be mitigated, but I'm not cutting a '52 TC stock. Guess I could swap it out.

·