Trapshooters Forum banner

1 - 20 of 61 Posts

·
Registered
22 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I’m new to the trap game and have been using a loaner 870 30” Wingmaster. I’ve learned quickly that while recoil never bothered me with this gun after 10 shots, recoil after 100 shots is something entirely different. After 2-3 rounds I find myself sore enough to be adjusting my mount in an effort to compensate (bad) and it often leaves me with a sore shoulder for a day or two. I notice that I need to lean my head/neck down to place my check on the stock - sometimes leading to mild cheek slap. Seems, at least in part, a gun fit issue, but given its a loaner, there is not much I can do to adjust the fit.

This is obviously a subjective question, but for those with 870s, how much does a proper gun fitting do to reduce felt recoil? I’m considering purchasing a dedicated trap gun and while a 870 trap model seems like a cost effective way to get into the game, I don’t want to waste my time if there is limited amount I can do with a fitting or basic modifications.

·
Registered
355 Posts
The trap model has a higher comb even if it isnt a monte carlo. That will help the cheek slap. A good recoil pad. I like kick eez. And a moderate load. 1145 fps is plenty. And 1 ounce loads are even better if not too fast. Lot of shoots been won with an 870.

·
Registered
2,834 Posts
proper gun fit will make a big difference in recoil, when I stated my boss lent me his 870 trap, compared to my Mossberg and my browning bps, it had no recoil. lop and comb hight are the first things to work on.

·
Registered
3,604 Posts