Trapshooters Forum banner

1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
507 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I have been shooting trap for about 7 years, I have to say I am not real good at it I break maybe a 18 or 19 if lucky. so I put most of my effort to shooting skeet. I have a lot of fun with both sports. I just love to shoot.

Anyhow 3 weeks ago I tried some new loads that Tom cerento posted in a skeet shooting review magazines.
One load was for a 7/8 ounce load with a velocity of 1310 with low pressure, the other was for 1 1/8 using unique powder. I tried both loads at trap and absolutely crushed the birds and have been shooting 24,s and 25's. since.

In the past I have shot 1 ounce loads and they have been good I guess. Anyhow I went to the pattern board and noticed that the 7/8 and 1 and 1/8 loads shoot a much better pattern and they also shot with out much recoil.

Could this be that my gun just prefers these loads and shoots best with them. I know you must think I am crazy for thinking this. I guess trap is as much a mental game as physical. But with these loads I ink blot those targets. I may be a trap shooter yet.

I have to say that the 7/8 ounce loads hit the targets just as hard as the 1 1/8 ounce loads.
So I will just use the heaver loads on trap league night and save the lighter ones for practice.

·
Registered
3,072 Posts
If you are shooting 24's and 25's, don't change anything or even think about changing anything. You are there. If you start to earn yardage, stick with your 1 1/8 oz. load for handicap.

A good friend and shooting instructor who won his share of money when the payoffs were fat used to say: "It takes a dummy to shoot trap." Don't think about anything just see the bird and shoot the bird.

·
Registered
507 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
If you are shooting 24's and 25's, don't change anything or even think about changing anything. You are there. If you start to earn yardage, stick with your 1 1/8 oz. load for handicap.