Trapshooters Forum banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
285 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi Guys, I'm new to reloading and trying to understand how your pattern is affected by the choice of wad. For example, I'm planning on loading 1 oz loads and Downrange makes a 4 petal wad and an 8 petal. What will I notice in terms of pattern quality between the two wads?

8-petal Jammer Wad

JAMMER XL1

Standard 4-petal Wad

DRXL1 GREEN

·
Premium Member
3,424 Posts
Eight petal are more difficult to load since the Peta!s get bent over and collapse in the loading process. Stick with 4 petal wads. Regards Ed

·
Registered
6,315 Posts
I have loaded 4 and 8 petal for years and have never had a problem. And you really won`t notice any difference between the two. But heck try them both and give us your opinion.

·
Registered
3,350 Posts
Patterns will not be different. Some of the 8 are harder to load because of the petals bending in the shot cup.

·
Registered
3,718 Posts
I use the 8 petal Claybuster Lightening and the only problem I have is that they sometimes get bad instructions from me as to where to go to meet the bird and the bird gets away! BUT if I give the wad good instructions as to where to go, the shot contained in the wad and the bird have a most satisfactory meeting:funsign:

That's the long way of saying I am happy with their performance. The Lost targets are just about always my or the wind's fault. Incidentally, that same exact problem exists when I used four petal wads also.

·
Registered
6,081 Posts
Years ago, I was told that eight-petal wads would yield more open patterns because they separate from the shot charge sooner. Then the theory was that since the wad tumbling from your shot charge can disrupt the pattern, getting that to happen sooner would yield tighter patterns. I've not seen any difference on my targets and prefer eight-petal wads only because they are thinner, therefore lighter, and I take any reduction in recoil I can get.