Trapshooters Forum banner

28 guage ?

4402 Views 45 Replies 34 Participants Last post by  Signman150
The club I shoot at is starting a sub guage shoot every month, of course I don't have a 28, but now have the excuse to buy one. What would be a good o/u with a max. price of about $2500? Since no one makes a 28g trap gun(at least I cannot find one), would sporting clays gun or a field gun be best? My club does have a 5 stand range so the gun could double for that too. I am used to a Citori CTX with 32" barrels and a 870TB with 30" barrel, so a 28" barrel sc gun may mess me up a bit, but I guess that is part of the challenge. Then I will need a 28guage reloading press....... Any ideas on a decent gun in this price range appreciated, never shot a 28 before so I am new to this. Thanks
1 - 20 of 46 Posts

· Registered
1 Posts
The club I shoot at is starting a sub guage shoot every month, of course I don't have a 28, but now have the excuse to buy one. What would be a good o/u with a max. price of about $2500? Since no one makes a 28g trap gun(at least I cannot find one), would sporting clays gun or a field gun be best? My club does have a 5 stand range so the gun could double for that too. I am used to a Citori CTX with 32" barrels and a 870TB with 30" barrel, so a 28" barrel sc gun may mess me up a bit, but I guess that is part of the challenge. Then I will need a 28guage reloading press....... Any ideas on a decent gun in this price range appreciated, never shot a 28 before so I am new to this. Thanks
You could order a Beretta SP in a 30-32” barrel

· Registered
2,251 Posts
Had a 30" Browning (XLT?) Shot very well and was rare (30") Really enjoyed it and shot it very well. Good friend wanted it for his kids and bought all. hulls,wads, reloader, powder etc. in a package deal. Get the 30" if you are lucky enough to find one. Would never have sold it if was not in my 80's. JMO

· Registered
18 Posts