Trapshooters Forum banner

1st gun

1598 Views 21 Replies 11 Participants Last post by  Photobug
I am looking to get back into clay shooting. I started shooting Trap and Skeet at a young age but when all the family guns were lost in a fire I was decided to take 30 years off. I am now looking to get started shooting again. Now I need to find a gun for me and my wife to get involved in clays.

Back in the day I started with a .410 survival gun then owned a model 1100 when I could hold the heavier guns. I even got to fire my father's nicer guns all of which went up in smoke. I was hoping to find a gun both my wife and I could shoot and then if she likes it I would get a second gun so we each could shoot at the same time.

We went to town yesterday to look around but the selection is sparse. I was thinking a 20 gauge for our first gun, but think my wife at 5'2" might be better with a youth shotgun, which apparently all got sold for home defense recently. I lean towards over-under or semi-autos as that is what I am familiar with. I appreciate all suggestions.
1 - 20 of 22 Posts

· Registered
13,537 Posts
I suggest a gas-operated automatic for your wife. The Remington 1100, or any of the Beretta line of auto's are all good choices. You can look at used shotguns too.

You can look at all the vendors on this website and see what they have to sell. Many of them will have used shotguns and new shotguns for sale. So look here first.

I also posted the names of every reputable gun shop on one of my threads here on TS.com about 6 months ago or so. You should be able to find it and look at the each gun shops on-line used guns for sale. The gun dealer at the Silver Dollar is good also. He is a Beretta dealer I think. If you can grab a issue of Trap and Field mag. from your shooting clubs clubhouse where you shoot. They have all of the best gun shops across the country.