Trapshooters Forum banner
Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 18 of 18 Posts

· Registered
1,126 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm considering getting a full size 1911 in 9mm for range use. No interest in spending the extra $ for .45 ammo. Prefer to spend less than $1,100.

Models I'm considering include:

STI Trojan

Springfield Service

Smith and Wesson Pro Series

Any advice on other models that I should consider?

David

· Registered
209 Posts
David, I've been shooting a Kimber Stainless Target II in a 9mm for about 5 years now , No major troubles ,just a fun gun to shoot. My 2nd choice would also be the Trojan. Bill

· Premium Member
10,641 Posts
Modify slightly and get a Browning Hi Power- you will be glad you did and for 1100 and you can have some trigger work- and some customizing done on a used one

Regards from Iowa

Gene

· Registered
9 Posts
I have a Springfield Armory 1911-A1 loaded target model in 9mm that has functioned flawlessly for years and is a pleasure to shoot. Great way to maintain proficiency with the 1911 platform at much less cost.

· Premium Member
10,641 Posts
I would get whatever hi power you can get at a reasonalble price and do some customizing

So even if the finish is worn etc it might not actually cost anything more to get the frame stippled - etc-

I would put a set of Novak sights on it and never look back because with a trigger job and some good groups it is not only fun to shoot but can be used for many different tasks-

9mm 1911s are kind of bastard children- cost the same new- big loss in value when you try to resell plus you dont get the advantages that the hi power has

Regards from Iowa

Gene

PS a listing like this with an asking price of $600 is an example--- http://www.armslist.com/posts/1131988/fresno-california-handguns-for-sale--browning-hi-power-9mm-pistol

Sometimes you get lucky and a trigger and action job has already been performed