1. Attention: We have put together a thread with tips and a tutorial video to help with using the new software. Please take a moment to check out the thread here: Trapshooters.com Tutorial & Help Video.
    Dismiss Notice

years shooting.

Discussion in 'Shooting Related Threads' started by johnboy, Jul 24, 2013.

1. johnboy

johnboy Member

Just wondering what the average shooting life of a competitive shooter is? Most of the people I started shooting with have stopped shooting for one reason or another. I am still enjoying competitive shotgun shooting going into the seventeenth season. I will add that I primarily shoot skeet but have enjoyed shooting trap for several of the seventeen years.

2. Nutso

Nutso Member

Since 2001, but I've taken a couple of years off here and there. I shoot both ATA and NSSA, usually one or the other, a couple of years both during the same season.

3. JRW

JRW Member

Started in 1973, had to quit about 5 yrs when kids were young. Have not shot much this year due to shoulder problems.

4. yakimaman

yakimaman Well-Known Member

Please define "competetive".

5. Ed Y

Ed Y TS Supporters TS Supporters

53 years non-stop

Ed Yanchok

6. motordoctor

motordoctor Shoji Tabuchi in Branson

started registered in 1968 but actually started a little with my dad about 1962 so that makes it 51 long and expensive years nonstop motordoc

7. RayReys

RayReys Member

Dreamed of being an Olympic shotgun shooter after seeing Kim Rhode (who was around my age) in the magazines in the mid/late nineties...took me until 2011 to actually shoot some sort of formal event...so that makes only 2 years for me-

On the bright side, I have (God willing) many more years of good shooting ahead :)

8. bubbasdad92

bubbasdad92 Member