1. Attention: We have put together a thread with tips and a tutorial video to help with using the new software. Please take a moment to check out the thread here: Trapshooters.com Tutorial & Help Video.
    Dismiss Notice

XT Pattern Dilema

Discussion in 'Shooting Related Threads' started by rdland, Jul 20, 2012.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. rdland

rdland TS Supporters TS Supporters

I have been shooting trap for just a few years and have been shooting a Ljutic single barrel with a fixed choke for singles and handicap. I have done pretty well and have shot my way up to AA class, handicapping from the 25.

My shooting buddies recently twisted my arm into shooting doubles to complete my trap experience. I got a very good deal on a 34" Browning XT with adjustable comb. I then went to the patterning board. I raised the comb a little to get my desired patterned height. The top and bottom barrels pattern well and about identical elevation wise. The bottom barrel is dead on but the top barrel patterns to the left. The initial patterns were done with the Invector Plus factory chokes Full on top, IM on bottom. I tried the IM on top and it shot about the same distance left.

There is a plethora of varying opinions out there on patterning and I feel that I have covered most of the bases. I patterned it off of sand bags and an elevated solid bench at 25 and 30 yards. At best, the pellet count averaged about 15% left for the top barrel compared to the bottom. I patterned it at 15 yards and the top blew a nice ragged hole about 10 o'clock and the bottom 12 o'clock.