1. Attention: We have put together a thread with tips and a tutorial video to help with using the new software. Please take a moment to check out the thread here: Trapshooters.com Tutorial & Help Video.
    Dismiss Notice

XT 30 or 32"

Discussion in 'Uncategorized Threads' started by coyote268, Jun 4, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. coyote268

coyote268 TS Member

XT 30 or 32

After a 40 year layoff, I started shooting trap about a year ago. My first gun was and still is a BT99. Done a fifty with it and one short of a seventy five. Great singles gun. Thinking of doubles, I bought a 1100 Competition and love the soft recoil but I can't run a straight with it. It handles quite differently than the 99 as to balance and swing etc. I do well with it at the 21 though which is really messing with my pea brain. I really havn't given it a fair chanch yet but its hard to put down my 99 when I am shooting it pretty well. I'm considering trying to pick up a XT with an adjustable comb for a backup and maybe my primary gun for doubles if I can't tame the 1100. My question is what length barrel would I be better going with on doubles. Thirty or thirty two. I know this is a dumb question as most people will tell me to stay with the 1100 until I master it but at 71 I don't know if I have that much time to do it. Anuway, any advice would be appreciated.
    Dan

2. starshot2b

starshot2b TS Member

XT 30 or 32

I have the 30" XT - it's the 'bomb' for doubles. Not at all whippy like I thought it might be for singles or 'caps either. I love it - for me, it's a great all-around shotgun, which is what I wanted. JMHO.

3. hawk57

hawk57 TS Member

XT 30 or 32