1. Attention: We have put together a thread with tips and a tutorial video to help with using the new software. Please take a moment to check out the thread here: Trapshooters.com Tutorial & Help Video.
    Dismiss Notice

Women Trapshooters Please Read

Discussion in 'Uncategorized Threads' started by calilori, Jun 27, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. calilori

calilori TS Member

Hey Ladies, I'm writing an expository piece on being a female athlete in a male dominated sport and I need your help. I'm still really new in this sport, so I can write about being taken seriously and the reaction of both men and women, but I need more. If you have any stories, antecdotes, impressions, thoughts, or feelings on the subject, please email me ASAP. I'd like to get it all together by Friday morning at the very latest. Thanks in advance for your help.
    Lori

2. trapshooter1981682

trapshooter1981682 TS Member

Lori, i know this is for the women, but i want to give you my point of view from a male prospective. Go out there and give it your all. There are a lot of negative people in here, go out and make the best of it. I have all the respect for women shooters, it is a male dominated sport, but it always makes me smile to see a woman go out there and win. I have been shooting for a few years and i can say i have my bad days as well, just dont give up. Go out there to the line, relax, and have fun. A idea i always use to help myself is if i drop a target, i make myself laugh, dont get mad about it, cause that can hurt your scores even more. Go out there, and have fun.

3. lightfoot

lightfoot TS Member

Lori,

I don't have any personal information to share, but there was an Andy Griffith show episode that dealt with this very subject. Andy was unknowingly dating a lady that not only could shoot, but was a champion. Before Andy found out, they went crow shooting, and Andy would yell, “cover your ears”. :)