1. Attention: We have put together a thread with tips and a tutorial video to help with using the new software. Please take a moment to check out the thread here: Trapshooters.com Tutorial & Help Video.
    Dismiss Notice

wingmaster conversion for trap

Discussion in 'Shooting Related Threads' started by hunter505, May 17, 2013.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. hunter505

hunter505 TS Member

I have a Remi 870 wingmaster in mint condition. Gun is from the 80's. Would it be feasable to convert a field modle to a trap modle. She is 12 ga, 28"bbl.I would hate to by a new one, let a lone the expence. Any suggestions would be appreciated. steve pagano

2. LDAddi

LDAddi TS Member

Pick up an 870/1100 monte carlo stock and perhaps a 30" choke tube barrel and go for it. You can't get set up for trap any less expensive than that. There is an old saying that's been around for years...."Beware of the guy who shoots a $500 870, he's probably going to take your money".

Good luck and have fun.

Larry

3. Stl Flyn

Stl Flyn Well-Known Member

Absolutely! The best thing about it is there are 870 trap gun parts being sold constantly, and are readily available. You can piece together a gun, and keep the original parts.

Just make sure you are getting a deal on the parts, or you may be better off buying a 870 trap all together.

4. Oregunner

Oregunner Well-Known Member

What is your barrel choked now? If screw-in chokes, or Mod or Full, keep it. Get a Jack West stock for $200. It has an adjustable comb. Set it up to shoot a little high and go shoot targets. Mark

5. Ross

Ross Well-Known Member