1. Attention: We have put together a thread with tips and a tutorial video to help with using the new software. Please take a moment to check out the thread here: Trapshooters.com Tutorial & Help Video.
    Dismiss Notice

WIN SUPER TARGET vs. REM GUN CLUB (opinions)

Discussion in 'Shooting Related Threads' started by Rem-Guy, Apr 17, 2013.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Rem-Guy

Rem-Guy TS Member

I have always been a Remington guy as you can tell by my handle. But a local retailer has a good price on some Winchester Super Targets and the Remington Gun Clubs are hard to find in my area. Question is... what, if any, are the advantages of either one. I am new to the sport and do not reload.
    Thanks, Justen

2. acorange

acorange Well-Known Member

IMHO the super targets are not quite as good as the Gun Clubs and the GC's reload much better.
    Quite often the ST's are cheaper though.....

3. 3357

3357 Member

WIN SUPER TARGET vs. REM GUN CLUB

I recently switched to the WW Super Target shell. I have been very happy with them from the 16 yd line (I use WW AA super handicap shells for handicap). Before I purchased a large quantity of them I tried them in practice for a while and cut one open. The components appear to consist of a Winchester primer, some type of ball powder, a WW wad and shot that is of good quality and consistant but a little softer (by drop test) than the shot found in the WW AA super handicap shells.

For what its worth I believe you are pretty much getting a AA load in a junk hull.

If you are a new shooter I would caution you to not confuse the Winchester "Super Target shell" (described above) with the much lower quality and violently recoiling Winchester Super Speed shell, which I do not and will not use. Hope this is of some help.

4. 320090T

320090T Well-Known Member