1. Attention: We have put together a thread with tips and a tutorial video to help with using the new software. Please take a moment to check out the thread here: Trapshooters.com Tutorial & Help Video.
    Dismiss Notice

Why will ban on lead shot ruin trap?

Discussion in 'Shooting Related Threads' started by Bushmaster1313, Aug 4, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Bushmaster1313

Bushmaster1313 Well-Known Member

I am new to trap. Many say that a ban on lead will ruin trapshooting.

Why would steel be so bad?

Will it ruin the game?

Lou

2. crusha

crusha TS Member

No, it won't.

Look at the money people spend on this sport already. It will just take a little more, that's all.

The shitty thing is, once we've accepted steel for shotguns...the gubmint will ram it down our throats for pistols and rifles, too.

3. bigdogtx

bigdogtx Well-Known Member

I have been told not to use a full choke when duck hunting because, "steel will damage the choke"...any validity to this and if so wouldn't it hurt trap barrels???

4. Brian in Oregon

Brian in Oregon Well-Known Member

Deplorable Bitter Clinger in Liberal La La Land
    Remington Full choke hunting chokes are rated for steel shot. Says so right on them. They shoot tight patterns with steel, more like a turkey extra full. I was just shooting gray diggers at 40 to 50 yards with #4 steel shot recently. Used my barrel with rifle sights, because 25 yards and under the pattern was so tight you had to be right on. I shot one gray differ at less than 10 yards and it cored a perfect 1" hole through him.

5. acss

acss Well-Known Member Supporting Vendor

what is a gray digger??

6. Ljutic111

Ljutic111 TS Member

Must be a 4 legged duck that digs holes ???

7. SeldomShoots

SeldomShoots Active Member