1. Attention: We have put together a thread with tips and a tutorial video to help with using the new software. Please take a moment to check out the thread here: Trapshooters.com Tutorial & Help Video.
    Dismiss Notice

why the high rib?

Discussion in 'Shooting Related Threads' started by JohnJ, Sep 2, 2013.

1. JohnJ

JohnJ TS Member

New to trap, was noticing alot of shooters at my club have high rib guns,got several different reasons when I asked a couple of them, none made alot of sense to me, figured I should ask the pros. Thanks, John

2. joe kuhn

joe kuhn Furry Lives Matter TS Supporters

I'm no pro, but I think it's done for a better view and for the heads up position it reinforces on the stock.

3. vdt

vdt Active Member

i put on a 1" add-a- rib on both my barrels ,i use a FPS so i adjusted my comb to the same hight that i shot the gun with out the add-on rib ...you see the target sooner ,you can read what angle is better,and you are shooting in the optic of you perception if you have one ,my scores have gone up to a 96.6 in 3 months my handi-cap scores are all in the 90's ,next to my PFS it is a great improvement ..to me

4. Martinpicker

Martinpicker Active Member

5. Avaldes

Avaldes Well-Known Member

In Olympic doubles shooting, the Perazzi MX2005 is the standard by which other guns are compared. The high rib is very popular in that sport due to the added visibility.

6. SKB-Eric

SKB-Eric Member

One advantage I find, is you get less heat wave distortion compared to looking down a low rib barrel when the gun heats up with shooting. Specially if you shoot on a very fast squad. One squad I'm on is so fast, as soon as you pull out your spent shell and drop a new one in the chamber it is time to mount and shoot again.

Eric

7. Hammer1

Hammer1 Active Member

The high rib on a trap gun causes the young ladies in the spectator crowd to swoon.

8. Gunnerx11

Gunnerx11 TS Member