1. Attention: We have put together a thread with tips and a tutorial video to help with using the new software. Please take a moment to check out the thread here: Trapshooters.com Tutorial & Help Video.
    Dismiss Notice

why is it harder to shoot skeet with a 20 or 28

Discussion in 'Shooting Related Threads' started by dolphin62, Oct 5, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. dolphin62

dolphin62 Member

why is it harder to shoot consistant scores with a 20 and 28 gauge in skeet. I use a 12 gauge ruger and shoot fairly well with it, 23 and 24's sometimes a 25.
    These are good scores for me anyhow.

I have been using a 1 oz load, and I have been shooting for about 2 years now.
    I just can't figure out why I can't shoots as consisitantly with the 20 and 28 gauge. The shot amount isn't that much different that I thought it would make a difference. I can understand shooting a .410 would be a big difference.

there are days when I can shoot the sub gauges good and other days when it's just shamful. The 20 is a xs sheet, with a 30 inch barrel, the 28 a 525 with a 26 inch.

I just might be expecting a bit to much out of myself,but I just love shooting the 20 and 28, but just get discouraged with my shooting sometimes. I should probley just shoot and have fun.

any help.

2. hmb

hmb Well-Known Member

The reason is that you are using 3 different guns. Good skeet shooters have one 12 guage over/ under that is tubed for the smaller guages. They shoot the same gun for all the guages, and usualy use the 20 guage in the 12 guage and 20 guage events. HMB

3. g7777777

g7777777 TS Supporters TS Supporters

as HMB pointed out- different guns

most people shoot the 28 and 20 better than 12 actually- casual shooters that is

those guns must not fit you or the dynamics are bad for you

regards from Iowa

Gene

4. Brian in Oregon

Brian in Oregon Well-Known Member

Deplorable Bitter Clinger in Liberal La La Land