1. Attention: We have put together a thread with tips and a tutorial video to help with using the new software. Please take a moment to check out the thread here: Trapshooters.com Tutorial & Help Video.
    Dismiss Notice

WHY DO SIDE BY SIDE SHOTGUNS KICK MORE?

Discussion in 'Shooting Related Threads' started by senior smoke, Dec 5, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. senior smoke

senior smoke Well-Known Member

HELLO:
    i once new a man who loved and shot winchester 21's. simple question, why do side by sides kick more than other guns. anyone ever shoot a side by side for trap? i have been shooting since 1970, i have seen maybe 2 or 3 shooters shoot side by sides. why are they not more popular for trap? also what barrel is usually the more open choke barrel?
    steve balistreri

2. nobody

nobody TS Member

Stock design and weight?

3. Big Heap

Big Heap TS Member

I shot a L.C. Smith Speciality Grade at trap until I blew-up the barrels with a goose load. It worked fine with the right barrel choked full.

4. senior smoke

big heap:
    looks like a gun that could really smoke some targets.
    steve

5. Baron23

Baron23 Well-Known Member

Steve - its no secret why older S x S, while still popular among enthusiasts of that type of gun and field hunters, are not often used in modern clay target sports.

There are a few reasons that come to mind;

1. Light weight in general also means more recoil.

2. Stock dimensions of most of these older S x S are unsuitable for any modern target sports. Many are very short, almost all have huge drop at comb. These were guns that never met a cheek bone before LOL They have none of the offset comb, MC, palm swelled, toed out type configuration that you would find on say a modern Devault stock.

3. Triggers.....hard to compare what these older guns have to a modern, tuneable trigger like a K80.