1. Attention: We have put together a thread with tips and a tutorial video to help with using the new software. Please take a moment to check out the thread here: Trapshooters.com Tutorial & Help Video.
    Dismiss Notice

Why do I lust after a Spolar hydo reloader when my 9000h's work fine?

Discussion in 'Reloading' started by mike-sid, Jan 4, 2017.

1. mike-sid

mike-sid Active Member

Let me start by saying my 3 MEC 9000H's (12,20, &.410) are all working awesome, and have been fine tuned to turn out great shells. I like mechanical things, so when a problem came up with one of the presses, I studied the press to fix the problem, and adjusted what needed to be adjusted. My .410 loads just as good as my 12 ga now.
    Why am I drawn to the Spolar? I've never used one, but every time I see one for sale I try to convince myself I need one! I guess lack of funds holds me back, and the fact that I do not need another reloader.
    Does anyone else have this problem? or am I just nuts??

Gussers thanked this.
  2. Lagamor

Lagamor Active Member

Your not alone. My MEC's get the job done, but there's something about a shiny new toy I can't resist.

Especially, golden shiny.

mike-sid thanked this.
  3. straightshooter1

straightshooter1 Well-Known Member

You're just nuts!

Just kidding. You are very fortunate and the direct opposite of me. I've had many, many MECs and never got one to work right for any period of time. Maybe 50 rounds, maybe 500 rounds, but somewhere, sometime, the stinking thing would go out of adjustment and I'd have to stop and fiddle with it.

I bought a Dillon and never looked back till I got "tennis elbow" and then, in the fall of 2008, I bought a hydraulic Spolar and have never had any real problems with it. Plus it's a heck of a lot faster than any MEC.

Bob

Scott Gradert, mike-sid and Gussers thanked this.
  4. mike-sid

mike-sid Active Member