1. Attention: We have put together a thread with tips and a tutorial video to help with using the new software. Please take a moment to check out the thread here: Trapshooters.com Tutorial & Help Video.
    Dismiss Notice

Why are there so many differant wads?which is best

Discussion in 'Shooting Related Threads' started by bodyshopdave, Jul 14, 2012.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. bodyshopdave

bodyshopdave TS Member

I am new to reloading.When I go to buy wads its like buying potato chips at wallmart.Way to many to choose from.I have some federal cases and some AA cases.Is there one that will do both?Some have 4 slices some have 8 what are the differance?I would truly like to get better at this so which one?I shoot 1 1/8 shot.Thank you. Dave

2. Unknown1

Unknown1 Well-Known Member

As far as the wads with 4 petals vs. the wads with 8 petals... they're like fishing lures: designed to catch fisherman because the fish don't care. There is no significant difference in performance between the two unless you THINK there is.

The Federal hulls are straight tubes inside and out. The AA hulls (and Remington hulls) are tapered on the inside... narrower at the bottom than at the top. You will want to use wads designed for straight walled hulls in the Federal hulls and wads for tapered hulls in the AAs to get the best performance out of either.

Visit the wad makers web sites and see what's different between the 2:<ul><LI>mecreloaders.com/ProductLine/wads.asp<LI>claybusterwads.com<LI>downrangemfg.com<LI>dusterwads.com</UL>