1. Attention: We have put together a thread with tips and a tutorial video to help with using the new software. Please take a moment to check out the thread here: Trapshooters.com Tutorial & Help Video.
    Dismiss Notice

Why are some shooters so selfish?

Discussion in 'Shooting Related Threads' started by short shucker, Apr 2, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. short shucker

short shucker TS Member

Why is it when one states that he/she doesn't care for ported shotguns they are listed as "grumpy or crotchety"?

Years ago when I started shooting clay targets I shot a factory ported O/U. I soon noticed that people commented on the noise of my gun especially when I used 3 dram or better shells. I didn't realize just how loud it was until I stood by a buddy of mine and let him shoot it.

I couldn't believe the noise and debris that spewed from the porting (the debris is more noticible when using slower burning powders). I shot the gun very well, but decided to trade it off for a similar gun that wasn't ported.

I stood beside the new purchase as another fired it just to make sure it wasn't obnoxious. It was a lot quieter to say the least.

Yet, I'm looked at as "grumpy" because I have the decency not to subject my fellow shooter to the excessive noise. Lord forbid if I refuse to shoot with someone because they have a ported gun. Then I'm a no good SOB and my very exsistance is brought into question.

Shooters shouldn't be so selfish, and consider those around them before they pull the trigger. Just the ramblings of a no good grumpy bastard that is considerate of others before himself.

ss

2. Jack Frost

Jack Frost TS Member