1. Attention: We have put together a thread with tips and a tutorial video to help with using the new software. Please take a moment to check out the thread here: Trapshooters.com Tutorial & Help Video.
    Dismiss Notice

why a single?

Discussion in 'Uncategorized Threads' started by kysmith, Nov 2, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. kysmith

kysmith TS Member

So, I've taken up trap this year and have noticed everyone I shoot with has either gravitated toward an sbt gun or already has one?

Why is that? Seems that an auto or o/u would be just as successful and more practical. Do any of the top shooters use something other than a single-barrel trap gun?

2. Dove Commander

Dove Commander TS Member

yes, there are buches of semi-autos.

3. kysmith

kysmith TS Member

But what about a high-quality o/u, like a Caesar Guerini, 85tss, or XT? That's truly setup for trap?

4. zelmo96

zelmo96 Member

Maybe I can help. I have been shooting trap since 2001. I am 42. I started shooting my Browning Gold. My average the 1st 2 years were 93 and 91.5 for singles. In 2003 I bought a Browning XT. My average went up to 94, then 95.8, 96.3, 96.8. My doubles went from in the 70's, to almost 91 last year. I handed the Browning down to my son and bought a 682 LTD. I just got the unsingle barrel and love it . I listened to Phil Kiner and set up the gun so I mount the gun and don't have to move my head at all. I can't wait for next year. I came through this progression and hopefully will get even better. I still think semi's are great, especially for people who are recoil sensitive. End story is , go with what feels the best to you. Good luck and run em. Al

5. maclellan1911

maclellan1911 TS Member