1. Attention: We have put together a thread with tips and a tutorial video to help with using the new software. Please take a moment to check out the thread here: Trapshooters.com Tutorial & Help Video.
    Dismiss Notice

Who has 3/4oz 12g wads?

Discussion in 'Uncategorized Threads' started by maclellan1911, Aug 9, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. maclellan1911

maclellan1911 TS Member

anyone, load STS hulls

2. R.Kipling

R.Kipling Well-Known Member

You really don't need a 3/4 wad. I've been loading 3/4 for about 2 years with a AA gray wad, in STS hulls. You may not need any adjustments at all. If you're using a low bulk powder it may be necessary to lower your first crimp-starter station a bit to involve more of the hull in the crimp. I recommend lowering to everyone that asks, regardless of the powder you use. It doesn't take much and is a simple operation on a MEC.

You'll get a closed crimp that doesn't dish-in using this method. If you're using a standard MEC charge bar your loads will likely be a tiny bit light. Check that and adjust if if you feel the need. I have Universal Charge Bars on both my 9000's, so I tune in the charge with every new bag of shot and lot of powder.

Good luck with you load, I really enjoy mine.

IME,
    Kip

3. Kevin Fleming

Kevin Fleming Active Member

I don't think you'll find a true 3/4oz wad for 12 gauge, at least not anything easily obtainable.

Kip has it right, use a 7/8 wad and with some press adjustment you'll produce a fine shell for skeet and 16yd shots.

My preferences for 3/4 oz is the Downrange pink xxl, then CB's clone of the Win 12L (gray). The DR just gives me better crimps.

The new clear duster is just too short for 3/4 oz, when there are better choices available - it does do a good job with 7/8 however.

I think there are a couple of guys that frequent here that can hook you up with DR products.

Kevin

4. bigclown

bigclown TS Member