1. Attention: We have put together a thread with tips and a tutorial video to help with using the new software. Please take a moment to check out the thread here: Trapshooters.com Tutorial & Help Video.
    Dismiss Notice

Which to buy?? Old vs New BT-99's

Discussion in 'Shooting Related Threads' started by Redbone311, Oct 19, 2012.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Redbone311

Redbone311 TS Member

Which to buy?? Old vs New BT-99

I'm reading on here that the fit and finish of the older BT-99's is much better. And one person's view was that if buying, one should buy an older one.
    But I'm thinking that the newer ones have the invector back bored barrels, and the interchangeable choke tubes.
    Wouldn't that make them a much better choice?
    I'm pretty new at this Trap game, so I need to know.
    I am seriously thinking of buying a BT-99.
    Thanks to all for your help and guidance,
    Dave

2. trapshootin hippie

trapshootin hippie Well-Known Member

Choke tubes are just something to screw with the shooters mind when they miss. Shoot full and forget it.

GneJ

3. Stl Flyn

Stl Flyn Well-Known Member

Learn how to shoot the older one, with the fixed full choke first. Then you won't have to bother with the chokes, and the newer version, which to me does not even come close as far as looks, and maybe quality. The one you asked about in the for sale section, all you have to do is read the posts.

4. ljutic73

ljutic73 Well-Known Member

Unless you're shooting sporting or skeet (unlikely with a single bbl. trap gun) I tend to agree with "hippie"...full is good....

Ron Burr

5. Oldgunsarebetter

Oldgunsarebetter TS Member

I had this same question, everbody said the same thing. Get an older one, made better,and nicer looking. Also if you get a new one and it needs repair word is you'll wait a while till Browning gets to it.

7771 thanked this.
  6. Rem870TB

Rem870TB Active Member