1. Attention: We have put together a thread with tips and a tutorial video to help with using the new software. Please take a moment to check out the thread here: Trapshooters.com Tutorial & Help Video.
    Dismiss Notice

Which Snap Caps and Dry Firing ???

Discussion in 'Shooting Related Threads' started by pete1955, Dec 4, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. pete1955

pete1955 TS Member

I am fairly new to trap shooting only 3 months or so and wanted to start practicing at home dry firing some. I wanted to know if the spring loaded ones are better than the filled ones or does it matter? Can you wear out either? I need to buy a set and was looking at the different ones.

pete

2. Unknown1

Unknown1 Well-Known Member

I use snap caps to reduce shock loadings on the hammer axle pins that dry firing creates. I broke a pin once by dry firing and it cost me a receiver after the gunsmith discovered it.

I prefer hollow full-length spring loaded brass with adjustable spring pressure (these are 28 ga.):<center>
    [​IMG]
    </center>

The plastic spring loaded numbers crack and a hull with silicone sealer in the primer hole is like firing into a marshmallow.

MK

3. tedingraham

tedingraham Member

A while back, someone wrote about making their own snap caps. I haven't made any yet. If memory serves, they deprimed a hull, and filled it high quality silicon from an auto parts store. Be sure to mark the homemade snap cap so you don't pick up a live shell by mistake. Maybe someone will respond with more details.

Ted - Beavercreek, OH

4. Unknown1

I don't know where the idea came from but my experience is that silicone offers absolutely no resistance to a firing pin.

MK

5. tedingraham

tedingraham Member

I found the reference to snapcaps with silicone.