1. Attention: We have put together a thread with tips and a tutorial video to help with using the new software. Please take a moment to check out the thread here: Trapshooters.com Tutorial & Help Video.
    Dismiss Notice

Which gun???

Discussion in 'Shooting Related Threads' started by Schmidt Racing, May 12, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Schmidt Racing

Schmidt Racing TS Member

I realize that this subject has probably been asked a million times, but, I am new to trap shooting and would like to know some of your opinions of which gun is the most bang for the buck. Can't afford anything high dollar. And may end up buying more than one as I have 2 sons that are also interested in shooting. Any help and suggestions would be appreciated. Thanks, Dick

2. Ajax

Ajax Well-Known Member

The only recommendation I have is to buy something durable. Don't buy some off brand that will spend more time in the shop, that is if you can even find parts for it.

Ajax

3. Shady Creek

Shady Creek TS Member

Beretta.....GOOD LUCK

4. doublea

doublea Member

Personally I shoot a Remington 1100. In my opinion your best value for an entry level gun would be a Remington 870. Low cost and durable. Adam

5. jdomas

jdomas Member

Beretta 391

6. SirMissalott

SirMissalott Active Member

I agree with doublea however look out for recoil on the 870

7. dverna

dverna Active Member

A used 1100 is a very good value. They are easy to fix and parts are everywhere. For your kids, they have less recoil than a break open. You can use them to hunt with too. When/if you upgrade, you will get almost all your money back.

The Beretta 390's etc are better but more money.

DO NOT buy a dedicated trap gun until you have shot a few thousand birds. Once you are known at the club, many of us will let you try our guns. You can always try guns that guys have up for sale. Try a bunch and see what works for you before you spend a lot of money.

Don Verna

8. Tripod