1. Attention: We have put together a thread with tips and a tutorial video to help with using the new software. Please take a moment to check out the thread here: Trapshooters.com Tutorial & Help Video.
    Dismiss Notice

When to rebuild

Discussion in 'Shooting Related Threads' started by joegriff, Jan 19, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. joegriff

joegriff Member

I have 3 BT-99's that I bought used with the release lever centered on all three. I have been shooting these guns regularly for 4 or five years. Hot loads only (Potshooter). When is the right time to rebuild. The guns are not loose yet. I understand that there other ways to tighten one when they do loosen other than a rebuild. A big vise, hammer and punch. What do you think?

2. Hydra

Hydra TS Member

If the tang is sitting at 6:00 oclock or center its time. By not doing do can cost you more for damage or badly worn parts. You want the tang to be close to 5:00. You will have to take all the barrels that you have for the gun. Not only does he have to work on the reciever but the barrels to.

3. GunDr

GunDr Well-Known Member

There are two ways most break-open guns get loose and worn.

One is the locking bolt. This is evidenced by the position of the top lever. The nearer the center of the tang (or to the left) the more worn the bolt (or in some cases the lugs on the bbl). Two things usually occur when the bolt is worn 1)With the bbls in the locked position in the receiver, you can feel movement. When movement occurs, the locking bolt is no longer applying pressure to the bbl, but just keeping it from falling open. 2)The lop lever will begin to jump during the shot. This again is because the bolt is not being held into the bbl lugs with any pressure. There is friction because of the angle of the two parts mating that keeps the blot secured.