1. Attention: We have put together a thread with tips and a tutorial video to help with using the new software. Please take a moment to check out the thread here: Trapshooters.com Tutorial & Help Video.
    Dismiss Notice

When is it time to see a gunfitter?

Discussion in 'Shooting Related Threads' started by glenns, Jul 29, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. glenns

glenns Member

I've been shooting trap since March 2009. I started off with a Remington 1100 and just bought a Browning Citori Special Sporting Clays. I like the feel of the Citori - seems to move well to the targets. My scores range from 15 to 23.

Just curious if and when I should see a gunfitter?

What are examples of some of the modifications that can be made to the gun?
    What questions should I ask in selecting a gunfitter?

Thanks,
    Glenn

2. brokendownbob

brokendownbob TS Member

I also started shooting this year and had only ever broken one 25 straight.
    I upgraded to a bt-99 plus and the first thing i did was took it to a gun fitter. I already had a butt plate that could be canted but i also wanted to be able to drop it. Now that i have had my gun fitted, Ive had more 25 straights and even a few 50s.

Some of the things that you could have done to your gun is an adjustable comb, and adjustable butt plate. I can tell you that the gun fitter was money well spent.

3. soup

soup Member

GO TO A GUNFITTE RIGHT AWAY. Whatever you INVEST with him is money you won,t waste on missed targets . Plus you will now know it is something you did -not the gun.

The best money I ever INVESTED-NOT SPENT -on my shooting was with Joe Goldberg (aka gunfitter ) here in NJ. And when I get a new gun he will either be informed ahead of time -or be with me-and my next stop will be his shop for a fitting.
    BILL

4. timb99

timb99 Well-Known Member

Now.

Now would be a good time.

5. glenns

glenns Member

Fred - "...go find the craftsman bill said."

??

6. PerazziBigBore