1. Attention: We have put together a thread with tips and a tutorial video to help with using the new software. Please take a moment to check out the thread here: Trapshooters.com Tutorial & Help Video.
    Dismiss Notice

When do you "set" a release trigger?

Discussion in 'Shooting Related Threads' started by yakimaman, Jan 3, 2012.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. yakimaman

yakimaman Well-Known Member

Picked up another BT 99 but this one has a Phillips release trigger in it and I have no experience with them. For those who use them, when do you set the trigger; when you mount, after you call for target....? other than wondering about that, the only issue I see is when you have a broken target or bad target and need to remount - would have to practice keeping pressure on that trigger until you get the action open.

rm

2. Unknown1

Unknown1 Well-Known Member

When do you

If you never shot a release before and don't need one, why in heavens name would you want to keep it that way and shoot it? You'll drive yourself nuts trying to switch back and forth between release and pull until one day you'll forget which you have and...

MK

3. TEXASZEPHYR

TEXASZEPHYR Member

When do you

get a snap cap and practice until you are more than comfortable with it. It comes second nature after a while, but if you haven't learned it well before you hit the line, your squadmates will be more than willing to harass you about your patterning efforts on the trap house.

Bob

4. Trap4

Trap4 Member

When do you

Mount the gun, take a deep breath, set the trigger, then call for the bird--

Trap4

5. SMOKEIT

SMOKEIT Well-Known Member

When do you

Stay with the release for a while--you may like it. Mount the gun,pull into your shoulder,set the trigger,soft focus over the bead then call. Be careful not to release you hand grip on the stock, just relax your trigger finger, keep gun firmly pulled into shoulder.....SMOKIT

6. TEXASZEPHYR

TEXASZEPHYR Member

When do you