1. Attention: We have put together a thread with tips and a tutorial video to help with using the new software. Please take a moment to check out the thread here: Trapshooters.com Tutorial & Help Video.
    Dismiss Notice

Wheel weights for making shot?????

Discussion in 'Uncategorized Threads' started by jmusic, Aug 10, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. jmusic

jmusic TS Member

I was considering shotmaking....I have a source on lots of used wheel weights.
    Was wondering if the hardness of the wheel weights will be correct in shotmaking or what the approximate percentage of antimony the wheel weights would most likely contain.

Jeff

2. avidtrapshooter

avidtrapshooter TS Member

i am just getting into shotmaking and am trying to fabricate some sort of shot making machine and am still very much in the trial and error process i am getting every shape but round, lol its just fun to tinker around with it. wheel weights vary in antimony content but i would say on average they have about 3-4% so its just fine for trap shooting.

3. avidtrapshooter

avidtrapshooter TS Member

4. phirel

phirel TS Member

Magnum shot contains 6% antimony. Wheel weights have a little more than mag shot. They can make excellent shot.

Pat Ireland

5. TOOLMAKER 251

TOOLMAKER 251 Active Member

Pat, I don't know for sure what the antimony content is of wheel weights. It might vary from one maker to another, but Lyman bullet co. claims wheelweights are 95.5% lead, 0.5% tin, and 4% antimony. I can tell you that when I melt a 100 lb. batch of them and cast bullets they come out at around 8 BHN. after sitting around for several months they will age harden to around 17 BHN.

George

6. blizzard

blizzard Active Member

How the hell are you going to use a steel weight on an aluminum rim? paint the weights and use two-way tape? i call b.s. on that rumor.

7. Jim101

Jim101 Active Member