1. Attention: We have put together a thread with tips and a tutorial video to help with using the new software. Please take a moment to check out the thread here: Trapshooters.com Tutorial & Help Video.
    Dismiss Notice

Whatever happened to Herter's?

Discussion in 'Shooting Related Threads' started by capvan, Jun 10, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. capvan

capvan Active Member

Whatever happened to Herter

Herter's was just starting to fade away when I stopped shooting years ago. Whatever happened to it? As I remember they had some products that you just couldn't get anywhere else. I started shooting again a couple of years ago and I just happened to wonder what happened to them.

Bruce

2. Hitapair

Hitapair Active Member

A Chicago sporting goods co bought them out and went belly up a few years later. A couple of others tried to revive it w/o success. Cabelas has the rights to the name now and markest a few things under the Herters name such as the plastic decoys, waders and some clothing.

3. TALLEND

TALLEND Member

Sir

As they were primarily a "Mail Order Business",the 1968 Gun Control Act put them out of business.

Tom

P.S. I still have a Herters,".401 Power Mag"Revolver,--Skeeter Skelton thought it was a "great gun/ctg."---it came out about 2 years before the .41 Mag

4. Shooting Jack

Shooting Jack Active Member

My first reloader was purchased from Herter's in 1969 along with plastic wads, primers and powder. I did not have a scale then and depended on the publications that came with the reloader for powder drops. I was in Bedford England at the time and shot my first rounds of skeet at Upper Heyford. Bought my first O/U, a SKB/BSA 12 ga for the sum of $150.00. I loved shopping at Herters(catalog) though and miss the reasonable prices. Jackie B.

5. Hitapair

Hitapair Active Member

tallend, Where did you here that story? Mismanagement put them out of business.

6. colonel klink

colonel klink Active Member