1. Attention: We have put together a thread with tips and a tutorial video to help with using the new software. Please take a moment to check out the thread here: Trapshooters.com Tutorial & Help Video.
    Dismiss Notice

What would you do?

Discussion in 'Shooting Related Threads' started by JDNY65, Apr 26, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. JDNY65

JDNY65 Member

I recently started shooting trap again after taking about 20 yrs off. (Busy rasing my children)
    Two years ago I starting shooting once or twice a month with my son at a local gun club. My old Browning Superposed is long since gone so I've been shooting my 870 with a 30" trap barrel that I bought back in the early 80's. I do ok with it but definetly prefer an O/U to a pump.
    I just joined a league for the spring/summer it's time to for a new gun.
    That said, I don't have a lot of cash to spend with kids in college etc.
    I am looking at a couple used 32" Browning XT's that are in the $1,600 - $1,800 range but I just came across a 1968 Winchester 101 trap in nearly flawless condition for $950. It's hard to believe the gun is 43 yrs old.
    I'd love to get both and put the Winchester in the safe but I've already spent more than my budget on guns this year trying to replace a few pistols/ revolvers that I regretfully sold years ago.
    What should I do???
    The XT's I'm looking at have adjustable comb's and butts, the 101 is all original with a monte carlo stock but it seems to fit pretty well.
    What would you do?

Thanks
    Joe

2. Brian in Oregon

Brian in Oregon Well-Known Member

Deplorable Bitter Clinger in Liberal La La Land
    Set aside a little each paycheck for the gun you want and keep shooting the 870 in the meantime.

3. brumfield_joe

brumfield_joe TS Member

I say shoot them both and then decide which one you like better.....

4. TOOLMAKER 251

TOOLMAKER 251 Active Member