1. Attention: We have put together a thread with tips and a tutorial video to help with using the new software. Please take a moment to check out the thread here: Trapshooters.com Tutorial & Help Video.
    Dismiss Notice

What to do?

Discussion in 'Shooting Related Threads' started by PhilG, Aug 15, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. PhilG

PhilG TS Member

Like i said in a earlier post i just started shooting trap and really enjoy it. So, like everything else i start i research as much as possible and try to gain some knowledge of the sport. I visited the ATA website and saw that membership begins september thru august. After reading the rule book which was like reading a foreign language, i saw something like needing a 1000 targets to compete in tournaments.
    I would like to go to shoots and participate in the different events even though right now i can barely hit a bird.. I may get better through the fall and winter and may feel more comfortable by next year. So my question is should i join the ATA and shoot some registered targets throughout the fall or wait? Being new all of this is very confusing so any help would be greatly appreciated!

Thanks to all Phil G

2. Russ-in-Pa

Russ-in-Pa Well-Known Member

First of all, WELCOME !!

Join and shoot as much as you want. Your scores will improve, and shooting in even small local competitions will improve scores faster than practice night at the local club.

When you are at a shoot, watch the better shooters, and learn from their actions and movements.

Don't worry that some or even most of the others will beat your first few scores. For the most part a trapshoot is a judgement-free zone. Regardless of how it looks, nobody was a great shot their first few times out.

Most of all - Have Fun shooting, and make a few new friends along the way.

3. Ross

Ross Well-Known Member