1. Attention: We have put together a thread with tips and a tutorial video to help with using the new software. Please take a moment to check out the thread here: Trapshooters.com Tutorial & Help Video.
    Dismiss Notice

what powder for an auto

Discussion in 'Shooting Related Threads' started by plumbcrazyjr, Oct 24, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. plumbcrazyjr

plumbcrazyjr TS Member

I am new to the sport and to loading shotshells so please be kind as i am sure that this has been asked before but i could not find it in the search.
    I have a winchester sx2 that i shoot trap with and i has just purchased a mec 650 to load with i have a large supply of AA hulls and AA12 wads but am unsure what powder to use any info would be a great help
    thanks
    Eric Rogers

2. Tron

Tron Supporting Vendor Supporting Vendor

You're going to want a clean burning powder for an auto, like 700x or Clays.

3. wayneo

wayneo Active Member

With those hulls and wads I would suggest Win 209 primers. Go to Alliant and Hodgdon powder web sites, lots of load data for those components.

Get a scale!! Wayne

4. Andy44

Andy44 Active Member

Use 17.4gr of Promo for either 1 or 1 1/8oz loads. Least expensive powder and works super in my SX2! No issues whatsoever!

16.7gr of ClayDot pushing 1oz loads works real well also. Use DownRange TGT12 wads for your 1oz loads.

AndyH ;-)

5. short shucker

short shucker TS Member

If you shoot a lot at night, then you may want to use some of the faster burning powders (red dot, clays,etc). This will help with the flame thrower effect. If shooting during the day, any powder will work (no flames visible during the daylight hours).

If you are reloading the new style AA's, then check the hulls carefully as you shoot them. I have witnessed the basewad migration first hand and it does exsist.