1. Attention: We have put together a thread with tips and a tutorial video to help with using the new software. Please take a moment to check out the thread here: Trapshooters.com Tutorial & Help Video.
    Dismiss Notice

What is "Lock Time"?

Discussion in 'Shooting Related Threads' started by Jim Bradbury, Oct 22, 2012.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Jim Bradbury

Jim Bradbury Member

At the risk of sounding stupid, I have been shooting for three years now, and I should probably know this. I have heard the term "Lock Time" on repeated occasions on this site. Such as my Blaser has a fast lock time. I really do not understand what exactly "lock time" is. Can someone explain this to me.

Thanks,

Jim Bradbury

2. yakimaman

yakimaman Well-Known Member

What is

The time it takes the hammer to swing through it's arc, move the firing pin to hit the primer.

3. jimrich60

jimrich60 Member

What is

Lock Time is simply the measurement of the time from the moment you pull the trigger to the moment the firing pin hits/ignites the primer. So a measurement of the time it takes the firing mechanism to work. This time is generally in miliseconds. In theory, the faster the lock time, the closer to your intended point of aim (that is, when you decided to pull the trigger) the gun will be when it fires. Whether or not a difference of 1 or 2 miliseconds makes that much real difference might be debateable.

4. BDodd

BDodd TS Member

What is

Agreed with Jim basically, however, there was a time that I had one gun for singles and handicap that was famous for fast lock time and another for doubles that was known to be moderately slow, an auto loader. I was clearly able to tell the difference but quickly adjusted, in less than a box of shells, from that difference. A practice round or even 10 shots would make the difference for me.....breakemall

5. Jim Bradbury

Jim Bradbury Member

What is

Thanks guys,