Trapshooters Forum banner
Status
Not open for further replies.

What is a good Semi-Auto for trap?

6K views 29 replies 23 participants last post by  oleolliedawg 
#1 ·
Super X1 !! That's easy.LOL, Bob

#7 ·
When Remington was Remington I'd take the 1100 every time. Today maybe a little part polishing is in order but the design is proven. Heavier nose and natural swinger. Find an old 1100 with low round count and it will be better than anything made today. IMO.

#10 ·
Actually, I've been shooting 1100's for over 30 years. At one time I owned 16 1100's. I had 2 matched pairs and a couple of D grade Skeet guns as well. 1100's are good guns....but, not nearly as reliable as a Beretta auto. That's just a fact. Go to any Sporting Clays shoot and you will see racks full of 391's. You will be hard pressed to see any 1100/1187's what so ever. If you do, it's more than likely owned by a beginner in D or maybe even C class. You will not see A or Master class shooters using them....but you will see lots of Master class shooters using Beretta autos. I'm just stating a fact, you can deny it all you want, but it's the truth.

If you're shooting singles or caps, it doesn't really matter, but if you are depending on the second shot, the Beretta is a hands down better choice.

#14 ·
I'd third Trons opinion!! Shot a model 50 for thirty or so yrs, but try to find a mod.50 trap that someone wants to part with, and you could buy a nice new 391 and adjust it with all the shims etc. to customize it yourself.Also There are some great 303's for sale on this site right now. Joe D

#18 ·
What you were looking at is about it. The Beretta is adjustable and stocked heavier. Adjustable comb installation on a Beretta is easy and not that expensive. An 1100 trap of the last 10 or 15 years isn't that of the 70's or 80's.

Get what fits you best or the one that will make you sleep the best at night.