1. Attention: We have put together a thread with tips and a tutorial video to help with using the new software. Please take a moment to check out the thread here: Trapshooters.com Tutorial & Help Video.
    Dismiss Notice

What is a Calcutta, and Anni Oakley

Discussion in 'Shooting Related Threads' started by chastaj, Jan 11, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. chastaj

chastaj Member

I am new to trap shooting and see clubs advertize Calcuttas, and Anne Oakleys. What are they and how do they work?

2. mixer

mixer Well-Known Member

Anne is a game where shooters line up at the 27+ yard line. It's a variation on miss and out. Where I play each shooter puts $5 in the pot. Usually it's played where the first four shooters have their guns up, the first man shoots, if he misses then the second shooter fires, if that's a miss then the third shooter fires, if he breaks the target then the 1st & 2nd shooters go to the end of the line. 2 misses and you're out. We usually have 15-20 shooters playing. Last man standing gets the pot.

A Calcutta or "Special Event" is where shooters put up an entry fee of $10-$20 and after the entrys are closed there is an auction to buy a shooter. Usually the four highest scores split the pot on a 40/30/20/10% percentage basis and then that purse is split either 60/40% or 70/30% between the buyer and the shooter. Lot of money to be made in a Calcutta.

Eric

3. W.P.T.

W.P.T. TS Member

I had shot Annies for many years, Eric is right except we don't get second chances and move to the end of the line ... The first and second shooter in the example Eric gave would of been shot out and can only wait for the next game to get back in ...